Yulee Sugar Mill Ruins Historic State Park is a Florida State Park located in Homosassa, off U.S. 19. It contains the ruins of a sugar plantation owned by David Levy Yulee. Yulee was part of the Territorial Legislative Council, and was a member of the U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate after Florida became a state. The site was added to the National Register of Historic Places on August 12, 1970.
The original plantation covered more than 5,000 acres
(20 km²), worked by approximately 1,000 slaves. Among the
crops raised were sugar cane, citrus, and cotton. The mill (which
was steam-driven) ran from 1851 to 1864. It produced sugar, syrup and
molasses, the last of
which was part of the rum-making process.
Remaining is the stonework (foundation, well and chimney), a cane
press, and some of the other machinery.
References and external