The Franciscan churches at San José de Tumacácori and Los Santos Ángeles de Guevavi both date to the late 1700s. The earlier Jesuit missions that were established at Tumacacori and Guevavi in 1691 are the two oldest missions in southern Arizona, but there are no visible remains of these early structures.
The third unit, San Cayetano de Calabazas, was established in 1756. The Guevavi and Calabazas units are not open to the general public and can only be visited on reserved tours led by park staff. The main unit of the park, the Tumacácori Mission, has a visitor center and museum and is open to the public every day except Christmas and Thanksgiving.
A 4.5 miles (7.2 km) segment of the Juan Bautista de Anza National Historic Trail lies along the Santa Cruz River between Tumacácori National Historical Park and Tubac Presidio State Historic Park.
The site was originally proclaimed Tumacacori National Monument on September 15, 1908, and was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on October 15, 1966. On August 6, 1990, it was redesignated a National Historical Park and the Guevavi and Calabazas units were added to the park.
History of San José de Tumacácori Mission
San Cayetano del Tumacácori Mission was established in 1691 by Father Eusebio Francisco Kino. It was established one day before the Guevavi Mission, making it the oldest Jesuit mission site in southern Arizona. The mission was originally called San Cayetano del Tumacácori and was located in a different location than the National Monument. It was established at an extant native O'odham or Sobaipuri settlement on the east side of the river. The location of this Sobaipuri settlement and the original place visited by Kino has been identified by archaeologist Deni Seymour who excavated and reported on the original San Cayetano del Tumacacori mission site, revising the earlier opinions of Charles Di Peso as to where this settlement was located.
After the Pima rebellion of 1751, the mission was moved to the present site on the west side of the Santa Cruz river and renamed San José de Tumacácori. By 1848, the mission was abandoned and began falling into severe disrepair. Preservation and stabilization efforts began in 1908 when the area was declared a National Monument by President Theodore Roosevelt and continue today.
Tumacacori MuseumTumacacori Museumis a museum building built in 1937 within what was then Tumacacori National Monumentand is now Tumacacori National Historic Park. Designed by Scofield Delong, it contains interpretative displays designed by http://www.henleycompany.com/relating to three historic missions preserved within the park, and includes artwork created by artist Herbert A. Collins. The museum building, a fine example of Mission Revival architecture, was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1987.,
Film shot in Tumacácori National Park
- 1990: Young Guns II directed by Geoff Murphy
- Official NPS website: Tumacácori National Historical Park
- Mission Churches of the Sonoran Desert
- Tumacacori Museum, a National Historic Landmark
- Photographs and architectural drawings of Tumacacori Mission from Historic American Buildings Survey
- American Southwest, a National Park Service Discover Our Shared Heritage Travel Itinerary
|U.S. National Register of Historic Places|
|U.S. National Historic Landmark|
|Location:||Tumacacori National Monument, Tumacacori, Arizona|
|Architect:||Scofield DeLong; Et al.|
|Architectural style(s):||Mission/spanish Revival|
|Governing body:||NATIONAL PARK SERVICE|
|Added to NRHP:||May 28, 1987|
|Designated NHL:||May 28, 1987|