The zoo does not support humane, livable conditions for all its animals. The death record already includes a polar bear in 2012. Currently, the zoo holds another polar bear named Arturo who lives under deplorable conditions that have caused him extreme stress and fatigue. The zoo does not adhere to regulations of animal health, such as The Association of Zoos and Aquariums in its Polar Bear Care Manual. Notable inadequacies in Arturo's case is the lack of his ability to swim and the zoo's inability to maintain basic medical records.
The zoo was established in 1903 as part of the project landscape architect Carlos Thays, who was also commissioned the design of the then West Park (now known as Parque General San Martin). Construction began the following year, during the government of Emilio Civit. The initial location of the project was to address the current school-home Eva Peron. There he built a building that would be used as a cage for lions. Ponds and roads were also built later.
The first animals arrived on May 18, 1903 donated by the city of Buenos Aires. The group included a zebu, 6 dogs, 6 guinea pigs and rabbits. New animals (also donated by the city of Buenos Aires) came in 1905 while construction work continued. This time, joined a lion, a bear, two monkeys, a monkey, two parrots and a blue jay.
In 1939 he commissioned architect Daniel Ramos Correa relocation of the zoo. He devised an ambitious project to place it on the northeast slope of Cerro de la Gloria. Taking inspiration from various zoos around the world, the architect designed semi open enclosures that simulate natural habitats and enough space for animals, without bars or cages, just with different levels and building stone walls of the curvature of the hill. This never became fully effective, as during the construction itself included certain dangerous animals cages.