Former use as a train station
The station was built according to Friedrich Neuhaus' plans in 1846/47 as the starting point of the Berlin-Hamburg railroad. It is the only surviving terminus building in Berlin from the late classic period and counts as one of the oldest station buildings in Germany.
The building has not been used as a station since 1884, when north-bound long distance trains from Berlin began to leave from Lehrter Bahnhof, which is just 400m to the south-west -- now the site of Berlin Hauptbahnhof.
Rebirth as a museum
Severely damaged during World War II, it found a new use in 1996 as the Museum für Gegenwart (Museum of the Present), which exhibits modern and contemporary art e.g. by Joseph Beuys, Anselm Kiefer, Roy Lichtenstein, Richard Long, Andy Warhol and Cy Twombly.
Between 2004 and 2010, the Museum für Gegenwart is exhibiting parts of the art collection of Friedrich Christian Flick. Due to his Flick family background, the display, which before was rejected in Zurich by the local authorities, caused various protests.
- Berlin State Museums
- Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation
- List of museums in Berlin