He also had a steward's house built below the castle, rebuilt in the Classicist style around 1830. Shortly before – around 1818 – Duke Kristian of Clam-Gallas had a New Castle rebuilt below the old castle, surrounded by a large park with a number of valuable plants. The Old Castle Grabštejn kept its original Renaissance appearance despite a fire which damaged its upper floors in 1843.
The House of Clam-Gallas owned Grabštejn from 1704 until it was confiscated in 1945. After the Second World War, the castle was still open to the public. In 1953, the whole castle complex was taken over by the Ministry of Defence. The old castle's condition significantly deteriorated after the army left. Repairs and restorations began in 1989. Nowadays Grabštejn is one of the best restored monuments of great importance in the Czech Republic. Grabštejn was opened to the public again in 1993. The tower, also open to the public, offers a marvellous view of the three-border-triangle, the castle's northern wing, and the vault. The most attractive interior in the castle is the Chapel of Holy Barbara, decorated with paintings from the 16th century. All the free areas are ornamented in Renaissance style with interlaced figural, animal, and heraldic motifs.