Following the signing of the Creek Treaty in 1832, the early white settlers built a 16 feet by 30 feet hand-hewn log fort for protection from a possible uprising from a Cusseta Indian village on Osanippa Creek. Walls were four and six feet high with portholes at a height of four feet. The fort never saw any military action. Following the removal of the Indians, the fort was incorporated into a building that had various uses over the years, including that of a country store. Today the structure is vacant with its surviving heart-pine walls exposed and beginning to deteriorate.