The castle was built in 1665 by Johann Ferdinand von Blanchard, a sire of Clemency. For building materials, he used the ruins of an earlier castle which stood on a site some 30 metres away from today's castle. Fifty years later, it was transformed into the Baroque style of the times. In 1721, after von Lanser had bought the property, it once again underwent transformations. In 1982, Jean Weis acquired the property which was inhabited until 2004.
- List of castles in Luxembourg